by George Gershwin arranged by Nicholas William

Recording:  University of Texas El Paso Wind Symphony
Bradley Genevro
Publisher:  Klavier K-11220        Purchase

Anytime the UTEP Wind Symphony releases a CD you can expect true professionalism and excellence in band music. The more familiar compositions in this collection are El Camino Real (Alfred Reed), Sinfonia No. 4 (Hartley), Prelude in E Flat minor Op. 34 No. 14 (Shostakovich/Reynolds) and a long overdue recording of Shadows of Eternity (Thomas Stone). Kay a Teen (Jack Stamp) and Ecstatic Fanfare (Steven Bryant) are newer, energetic works worthy of attention. Also featured are Incantation (David Dzubay), In Stillness (Brian Hogg) and The Earth (From “The Planets”by Trouvere); a rather intriguing composition by Jun Nagao. The remaining composition is a setting of Three Preludes by George Gershwin (Nicholas Williams) in a masterful reworking of this piano classic. An excellent program of wind band music done with style and brilliance.

Listen to recording