Tribute Cover

by Wayne Oquin

Album Title: TRIBUTE
Recording: Drake University Wind Symphony
Conductor: Robert Meunier
Soloist: Vince Kenney – euphonium

PublisherMARK MASTERS 55597-MCD




Tribute is dedicated to the memory of legendary bandmaster Don R. Marcoullier who directed the Drake bands form 1956 to 1987. The program begins with Flashback by Wayne Oquin. This attention getting opener is a rework of the composer’s earlier band composition Momentum. Aaron Perrine’s Pale Blue on Deep is the 2013 winner of the acclaimed American Bandmasters Association Sousa/Ostwald Award and vividly portrays the imagery of Lake Superior. Also featured are Hymn of the Innocent (Julie Giroux), Toscsin (Jack Stamp) and Ghosts of the Old Year (James M. David). The remaining work is the Concerto for Euphonium by the prolific band composer James Curnow. This excellent display piece for euphonium and band is deserving of frequent performance. The Drake University Wind Symphony is one of the stellar bands in the MARK catalog and is always a pleasure to hear.


Listen to recording