Dr. David Holsinger

In 1999, following 15 years of service as music minister, worship leader, and composer in residence to Shady Grove Church in Grand Prairie, Texas, composer/conductor David R. Holsinger joined the School of Music faculty at Lee University, Cleveland, Tennessee, as the inaugural Conductor of the Lee University Wind Ensemble. Holsinger’s duties include teaching advanced and graduate level instrumental conducting, orchestration, and composition. An overview of music at Lee University appears on the LINKS page of this site.

David R. Holsinger (b. 12/26/1945, Hardin, Missouri), twice the recipient of the prestigious Ostwald Composition Prize of the American Bandmasters Association, was educated at Central Methodist College [Now Central Methodist University], Fayette, Missouri; Central Missouri State University [Now University of Central Missouri], Warrensburg; and the University of Kansas, Lawrence. His primary composition study has been with Donald Bohlen at Central Missouri State and Charles Hoag at the University of Kansas.

David R. Holsinger is an elected member of the American Bandmasters Association.

In July of 2012, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Music Fraternity inducted Holsinger into it’s distinguished Alpha Alpha Chapter at its National convention in Orlando. Holsinger, who originally was inducted into Beta Mu Chapter of Phi Mu Alpha in the Spring of 1964, was also presented with the Signature Sinfonian Medal, one of the fraternity’s highest honors.

In December, 2011, Phi Beta Mu International Band Fraternity honored Holsinger with their “Outstanding Bandmaster of the Year” Award during its annual meeting at the Mid-West Clinic in Chicago. This award was founded in 1984 and presented initially to Col. Arnold Gabriel. Since then, annual recipients have been John Bourgeois, Ray Cramer, Frederick Fennell, Harry Begian, James Croft, Don Wilcox, and Lowell Graham, among others.

In December of 2010, at their annual luncheon at the MidWest Clinic in Chicago, the Women Band Directors International awarded the composer the “Al G. Wright Award” for his continued support through the years of women band directors. This award is named for Al G. Wright, Conductor Emeritus of the Purdue University Band, and husband of founding WBDI charter member, Mrs. Gladys Wright.

Over the past years, Holsinger has been named a National Patron of Delta Omicron Music Fraternity, awarded the Distinguished Music Alumni Award from Central Missouri State University, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia’s Orpheus Award, as well as, honorary memberships in Kappa Kappa Psi National Music Fraternity and the Women’s National Band Directors Association, and most recently, honored as a Sigma Alpha Iota National Arts Associate.

In April of 2003, Holsinger was presented the Distinguished Alumni Award from Central Methodist College, and the following month, at Graduation Ceremonies, Dr. Paul Conn, President of Lee University presented the composer with the university’s prestigious “Excellence in Scholarship” faculty award for his continued achievement in musical composition. In November 2004, during Homecoming Festivities, the Alumni Association of Lee University named the composer, “2004 Honorary Alumnus of the Year”.

During festivities surrounding the premiere of the composer’s THE EASTER SYMPHONY, Holsinger was honored by Gustavus Adolphus College with the awarding of an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters for lifetime achievement in composition and presented the Gustavus Fine Arts Medallion, the division’s highest award, designed and sculpted by renowned artist, Paul Granlund (1925-2003). Holsinger was the fourth composer honored with this medal and joins a distinguished roster which includes, among others, Gunther Schuller, Jan Bender, Csada Deak, and Libby Larsen.

Professor of Music, Lee University

American Band College